Inductees Named to 2014 Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame

Date Published: Jun 10, 2014

Boiling Springs, PA (June 10, 2014) – Appalachian Trail (A.T.) advocates A. Rufus Morgan, Charles R. Rinaldi, Clarence S. Stein and Pamela A. Underhill were inducted into the A.T. Hall of Fame last week during the fourth annual Hall of Fame Banquet at the Allenberry Resort Inn and Playhouse in Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania. The A.T. Hall of Fame recognizes those who have made major contributions or have advanced the cause of the A.T., as well as the Appalachian Trail Conservancy (ATC), in a notable way.

“This year’s choices for the Hall of Fame represent the success of the public/private partnership that has made it possible to permanently protect the nearly 2,200-mile long Appalachian Trail for future generations,” said Ron Tipton, executive director and CEO of the Appalachian Trail Conservancy. Tipton accepted a handcrafted commemorative hiking stick on behalf of Stein, who played an integral role in helping Benton MacKaye’s vision of an Appalachian Trail become a reality.

A.T. Hall of Fame inductees include visionaries who conceived the A.T., leaders who organized and directed organizations such as the ATC, pioneers in the long distance hiking community, as well as those who have enriched the culture or the community of the A.T. by their association.

A.T. Hall of Fame honorees and representatives include ATC Executive Director/CEO Ron Tipton on behalf of Clarence Stein; Larry and Doris Jelley on behalf of A. Rufus Morgan; Pamela Underhill; and Donald Owen on behalf of Charles Rinaldi.
A. Rufus Morgan hails from Franklin, North Carolina. His contribution to the A.T. amounts to 43 years of construction and upkeep of the Trail. In 1968, he created the Nantahala Hiking Club, sharing his love for the Trail with those around him. In 1964 he was named an honorary life member of the ATC, and in 1981, he received a recognition award for his 29 years of service on the ATC Board of Managers.

Charles R. “Chuck” Rinaldi of Boca Raton, Florida served as chief of the Appalachian Trail Land Acquisition Office of the National Park Service, and his work there eventually led to mass land acquisition that would place the A.T. leaps and bounds ahead as a reality. In 1983, Rinaldi was named an honorary life member of the ATC.

Clarence S. Stein of New York City, New York, was a close friend and important colleague of Benton MacKaye and strongly encouraged him to publish his concept for the Trail. Stein worked closely with MacKaye as part of the newly created Regional Planning Association to push the idea of the A.T. among conservationists in the Northeast. He was an advocate for not only the A.T., but also for preserving the crest of the Appalachian Mountains.

Pamela A. Underhill of Harpers Ferry, West Virginia has preserved and protected the A.T. in a variety of capacities with the National Park Service since 1979, including her time as park manager. A strong advocate for land conservation along the A.T., Underhill’s efforts have aided the Trail and the ATC tremendously. Underhill continues her service as a volunteer with the ATC.

Three classes were previously elected to the A.T. Hall of Fame. The charter class, elected in 2011, was comprised of Myron Avery, Gene Espy, Ed Garvey, Benton MacKaye, Arthur Perkins and Earl Shaffer.  Members of the 2012 class were Emma “Grandma” Gatewood, David A Richie, J. Frank Schairer, Dr. Jean Stephenson and Major William Adams Welch. The 2013 class was Ruth Blackburn, David Sherman, David Startzell and Everett (Eddie) Stone. A.T. Hall of Fame inductees are honored in the Appalachian Trail Museum in Gardners, Pennsylvania.

For more information about the A.T. Hall of Fame, visit For more information about the ATC, visit

About the Appalachian Trail Museum Society
The Appalachian Trail Museum Society, a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization formed in 2002, organizes programs, exhibits, volunteers and fundraising nationwide for the Appalachian Trail Museum. The museum opened in 2010 as a tribute to the thousands of men, women and families who have hiked and maintained the 2,184-mile long hiking trail that passes through 14 states from Maine to Georgia. Located in the Pine Grove Furnace State Park in Gardners, Pennsylvania, the museum is conveniently near Carlisle, Gettysburg and Chambersburg, Pennsylvania. For more information, please visit

Contact: Jim Foster
Appalachian Trail Museum Society
Tel: 717.649.5505
Email: [email protected]

About the Appalachian Trail Conservancy
The ATC was founded in 1925 by volunteers and federal officials working to build a continuous footpath along the Appalachian Mountains. A unit of the National Park Service, the A.T. ranges from Maine to Georgia and is approximately 2,185 miles in length. It is the longest hiking-only footpath in the world. The mission of the ATC is to preserve and manage the Appalachian Trail – ensuring that its vast natural beauty and priceless cultural heritage can be shared and enjoyed today, tomorrow, and for centuries to come. For more information, please visit  

Contact: Javier Folgar                                                                    
Appalachian Trail Conservancy
Tel: 304.535.2200 x117
Fax: 304.535.2667
Email: [email protected]

Leave a comment