Greater Waynesboro Area, Pennsylvania Designated as Appalachian Trail Community™

Date Published: Apr 15, 2014

Waynesboro, PA (April 15, 2014) The Appalachian Trail Conservancy (ATC), along with the Potomac Appalachian Trail Club (PATC), invite the public to attend the official designation of the Greater Waynesboro Area, including the borough of Waynesboro and Washington Township, Pennsylvania, as the newest Appalachian Trail Community™. In conjunction with Renfrew Institute’s Earth Celebration Day & Festival of Art, the celebration starts at 11 a.m. Saturday, April 26, and is free and open to the public.

The Appalachian Trail Community™ program was created by the ATC to recognize communities that promote and care for the Appalachian Trail (A.T.). Working with a growing network of trailside community partners, the program supports communities that play a role in advocating the A.T. as a significant local and national asset and as an international icon. The program assists communities by generating tourism and stimulating outdoor recreation while preserving and protecting the A.T.

“The Appalachian Trail Conservancy is proud to celebrate the Greater Waynesboro Area as an A.T. Community™ partner in Pennsylvania that is helping to protect and promote the Appalachian Trail” said Julie Judkins, community program manager for the ATC. “These new partnerships increase local stewardship of public lands, support community initiatives for sustainable economic development and conservation planning and support healthy lifestyles for community citizens.”

The lead volunteer working with the community, Kathleen Seiler, feels that “Being here in south central Pennsylvania only a few miles from the Appalachian Trail is a blessing for the chance to step into another, quieter part of our world....You feel like you're so far apart from the everyday stresses and worries. Many people living close by don't realize what a gift it is to be so close, and hopefully this A.T. Community™ status will spread awareness to benefit both hikers and our community.”

Honored guests and speakers at the event include Wendy Janssen, superintendent of the Appalachian National Scenic Trail; Ron Tipton, executive director of the ATC; Mayor Richard Starliper, Borough of Waynesboro; Supervisor Jeffrey Geesaman, Washington Township; Chair Wayne Driscoll, Borough Councilmen; Senator Richard Alloway, 33rd District Pennsylvania; President John Hedrick, PATC; Chair David Keller, County Commissioners; and Congressman Bill Shuster. Regional Director Karen Lutz of the ATC’s Mid-Atlantic Office will emcee the event.

The event will also include environmental exhibits, a school clothesline exhibit, food stands, children’s art activities, vendors and artists, live music, authors, demonstrations, a yard sale and more.

Event Overview:

Location: Waynesboro, PA

Date: Saturday, April 26, 2014

11 a.m.             Event kicks off with Slim Harrison & the Sunnyland Band

12:30 p.m.        Earth Day Celebration

                           Renfrew Institute Environmental Artistry Award

                           Remarks & Earth Day Proclamation

12:50 p.m.        A.T. Community™ Designation

                           Remarks from honored speakers and guests

4 p.m.                Event concludes

For more information about the A.T. Community™ program, visit

About the Appalachian Trail Conservancy
The ATC was founded in 1925 by volunteers and federal officials working to build a continuous footpath along the Appalachian Mountains. A unit of the National Park Service, the A.T. ranges from Maine to Georgia and is approximately 2,185 miles in length. It is the longest hiking-only footpath in the world. The mission of the ATC is to preserve and manage the Appalachian Trail – ensuring that its vast natural beauty and priceless cultural heritage can be shared and enjoyed today, tomorrow, and for centuries to come. For more information, please visit

Contact: Javier Folgar                                                                    
Appalachian Trail Conservancy
Tel: 304.535.2200 x117
Fax: 304.535.2667
Email: [email protected]

Leave a comment